Isn’t it amazing how sometimes when you walk through a place you have a feeling you will one day return?  You feel that one experience is not enough.  That is how I felt when I walked through the fish and fruit market in San Pollo near the Rialto Bridge in Venice.  The fruit on the tables with the crushed ice was so fresh and vibrant we couldn’t help but stop to buy it.  There was a variety of blends, eye-catching because of the colours and different combinations; from the white of the coconut to the green of the melon and the red of the berries. The vendor offered to blitz up our chosen selections into a drink, and we decided this was a good idea.  Walking along the Grand Canal with my berry and pineapple smoothie, I felt every inch the tourist but somehow deep inside I felt as if I belonged there and knew someday I would be back.

italy-trip-2013-881

