I always love weddings.  When I think of wedding food, the first thing that comes to mind is the cake….”Let them eat cake” I say, and lots of it… The type of cake and the way it’s iced or decorated always speaks to me.  It is special because it’s been thought about, dreamed of and discussed at length.

I had the pleasure recently of attending a family wedding, and of course, I took my camera.  I enjoyed snapping the bride and groom, but I really loved taking pictures of the wedding cake and other food over the weekend.

img_0788

The cake is always an important part of any wedding.  Julia Child said, “a party without a cake is just a meeting”.  I remember reading once that Princess Diana had two replicas of her cake made to act as ‘stunt doubles’ in case of mishap!  Imagine the expense!  Brides now choose different types of cakes with a variety of flavours and toppings.  This last cake I sampled had layers of granadilla and nougat.

When I was a little girl (in the… um… 70’s and 80’s) the wedding cakes were mainly fruit cakes, and there were always cakes baked before the time, cut up into small pieces and individually wrapped to be handed out at the reception.  We took these pieces home (with the, then popular, spray-painted chicken wish-bones) to place under our pillows.  The tradition was that whoever you dreamt of when you had the cake under your pillow, would be your future husband!  It caused great excitement and speculation.

Watching the happy couple made me reflect on love and commitment.  One of the greatest commandments Jesus gave was to love; yourself as well as your fellow man.  What a wonderful world it would be if we could all just love each other as we were instructed to do.

img_0833Between the ceremony and the reception, we had lunch at the Tin Roof Cafe in Pretoria. Photographed here is pan seared tuna with chilli and a tomato jam.

